Rising

Towards the end of last year,  on the day that Fatoumata Diawara was to grace Nairobi with her captivating  presence,  I was involved in a minor car accident. It definitely threw me off and it took me a while to get back into my regular routine. And in the middle of all this brouhaha I ended up taking a break from practice, blogging and a couple of other things. So now I am trying to get back to it all, music, writing…

The first song of the year is Rise by Mayonde. It was released over 2 years ago but for some reason it’s been my anthem since the year began. It’s been my trying to sing in the shower song.

Rise reminds us to keep fighting for ourselves. In Rise, Mayonde gives us the faith that is needed to keep believing in ourselves, to defiantly refuse to stay down, or to be left behind as everyone else forges ahead. I hope it inspires you as much as it has me to make 2017 the year that you will rise above. Have a wonderful year. I almost forgot to mention that the acoustic guitar gives us the perfect backdrop to this beautiful song !

Leave a Reply

